big peas and beans day


That cook book I was talking about
yesterday advised me to introduce a peas and beans day. You pick a day, put all the dried peas and beans you like in water, let them soak for at least 12 hours and then cook all of them  at once (separately, of course). Then you freeze them down in smaller portions. That way you’ll always have some peas and beans ready to use. Smart, huh?

So now I’m cooking chickpeas and lima beans. Will have another peas and beans day tomorrow (bad planning, I know) with kidney beans, mung beans and some black eyed beans. After that I should be fully prepared for some delicious stews, soups and curries :-)




(Click on photo for source)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Morten on January 20, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Boiling eggs and beans at the same time doesn’t really bring a nice smell into your house – And thats all I have to say on that subject!

    Reply

  2. Maybe it’s not me cooking the beans but you eating them that makes it smell in our home… Have you ever considered that?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Morten on January 20, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    I did NOT break wind in the kitchen today! Sure, I did do it in every other room of the house – but the smell in the kitchen was just to powerful – I simply could not compete!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

