how i got my name

Susann Romy – not the most common name. A blog entry on Gabbi’s weblog inspired me to do a post about how I got my name.

When my mom was pregnant with me  she would be staying at my grandmothers place in Eilenburg for the last 4 weeks of the pregnancy.  My big brother frank, by that time he was three, was staying with them, since my dad was in the army and couldn’t look after him. When my mom was in labor my brother and my grandmother would be waiting at home by the telephone. Every now and then my grandmother would give the hospital a call to hear if I had been born yet. At some point the nurse would say, ‘if you stay by the phone now, you can witness the childbirth’! Of course they wouldn’t miss that show for a thing ;-) My parents agreed on the name Romy, calling me after the famous actress Romy Schneider. My brother however had another plan. When I finally got born he would take the phone and say, ‘my little Susann has been born’! Back then he had a big crush on his friend Susann and liked the name so much that my parents decided to name me Susann Romy instead. Up until I was 19, I would never use my middle name. But when living in America I found out that everyone had a middle name, so I got the dust off of mine and started using my full name. Now I really like the sound of the name Susann Romy!

I would die for the stories behind your names! So if there’s one, be so nice and share it with me!

sissi08Romy Schneider, here in the role of Sissi, the Austrian Empress 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Morten on June 22, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I was raised by a pack of wolfs – thats how I got my name.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on June 22, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    liebe susimaus,ach nein susann romy,klingt irgendwie toll.haben wir doch gut gemacht,oder? ist eben echte teamarbeit.kiss mom

    Reply

  3. My Mum named me after the Grace Kelly character in High Society : (Tracy) Samantha! She also liked the fact Samantha could be shortened to Sam which was a boys name – she liked that too because she had an aunt Georgina who used to get called George. P.S. I’ve given your blog an award Susann Romy!

    Reply

    • I liked that story, Sam! And I really like the shortened version of your name!
      And thank you so much for the award. I feel flattered =)

      Reply

  4. That’s such a sweet story of your name Susann Romy! I’m very much a fan of Romy and her Sissi series also. I love films with strong female characters.

    I don’t have a middle name but my full first name is Gabriela and my mother named me after the heroine in one of her favorite novels when she was a young girl. The novel was written by Yolanda Vargas Dulche and it was entitled ‘Gabriel y Gabriela’. I hated my name for years but now as an adult I’ve come to appreciate it… :)

    Reply

  5. I think that Susan Romy is a fabulous name!

    Reply

  6. Posted by leabolvig on June 26, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    yes, susann romy is a very nice name! i got mine because my parents came across a cute girl when eating in a restaurant and she was named lea, she gave them a drawing. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

